Ballots for the Aug. 1 primary election are to be mailed today to registered Walla Walla voters.

Only two seats, both Walla Walla Walla City Council positions, have more than two candidates in the primary, which will decide the top two vote-getters who will advance to the Nov. 7 general election.

Candidates for all other positions in Walla Walla and Columbia counties are uncontested in the primary and will be walk-overs.

Dave Valiant, Walla Walla County elections supervisor said 17,000 ballots will be sent to voters in the city of Walla Walla for the races involving the Council Position 1 and 3 seats.

In the Position 1 race, incumbent Jim Barrow is running against Riley Clubb and Jerrold Leon Phillips.

In the Position 3 race, the candidates are Myron Huie, Devon Wootten and Manuel Almanzar. The incumbent, Dick Morgan, announced earlier this year he was stepping down and a fourth candidate who filed, Lynn Knapp, has withdrawn her candidacy.

Ballots for voters in the military and county residents living overseas were mailed June 16, according to the county Elections Office. Staff will begin tabulating ballots at 2 p.m. Aug. 1, but preliminary election results will not be released until after 8 p.m.