Columbia County Commissioners building

Columbia County Commissioners' building in Dayton, Wash.


of the Walla Walla Union-Bulletin

DAYTON — Columbia County commissioners will hold a special meeting Monday to fill a vacancy on the three-member board.

The meeting will be at 7 p.m. at the third-floor courtroom in the Columbia County Courthouse, 341 E. Main St., in Dayton.

Commissioners will interview Kaye Eaton, Thomas Konan and Ryan Rundell, who were chosen by the county Central Republican Committee as finalists for the vacant commissioner District 1 seat on the board.

After the interviews, county Commissioners Michael Talbott and Charles Amerein will decide who will fill the seat.

The seat had been held by former Commissioner Norm Passmore, who resigned in January as he and his wife planned to move to Oregon.

Passmore, a Republican, represented Commissioner District 1, which covers the south-central area of Columbia County from Dayton to the Oregon border. He was also chairman of the commission.

The person chosen to replace Passmore will hold the seat until the next general election, which will be in November. The winner of that election will then serve the remainder of Passmore’s four-year term in office, which will expire at the end of 2020.

Central committee members met March 4 in Dayton to interview candidates and then vote on which three names to submit to county commissioners as nominees.

Nine people applied to fill the post. The remaining applicants were Shawn Brown, Nick DePaulo, Jordan Henderson, Brian Krause, Jay Takemura and Roger Trump.

Andy Porter can be reached at or 526-8318.

Andy Porter can be reached at or 526-8318.

Andy Porter has been with the Union-Bulletin since October 2000. His beats include Walla Walla County, city of College Place, Washington State Penitentiary, agriculture, environment as well as a wide range of general assignment topics.