More candidates entered the field for Walla Walla School District's Board of Directors on Tuesday, May 16.

Kirk Jameson, a former principal of College Place High School who also previously worked in the Walla Walla School District, is vying for the seat currently occupied by Derek Sarley. 

Sarley has held the Position 5 seat since 2015, and he filed for reelection Monday.

Walla Walla resident Chris Leyendecker entered the race for Position 3 on Tuesday, challenging incumbent Ruth Ladderud, who also filed for reelection Monday.

Three people — incumbent Eric Rindal, former candidate Zana Carver and former Blue Mountain Action Council leader Kathy Covey — are vying for Position 4. 

Here’s who had filed as of 4 p.m. Tuesday in Walla Walla County:

Port of Walla Walla

Amy Schwab, Port Commissioner District 2

City of College Place

Paul Jessup, City Council Position 1

Loren Peterson, City Council Position 4

Melodie Williams, City Council Position 5

Heather Schermann, City Council Position 6

Monica Boyle, City Council Position 7

City of Prescott 

Brent Potts, Mayor 

City of Waitsburg

Jillian Henze, City Council Position 5

City of Walla Walla

Monte Willis, City Council Position 4 (east ward)

Susan Smiley Nakonieczny, City Council Position 5 (west ward)

Tom Scribner, City Council Position 6 (at large)

Steve Moss, City Council Position 7 (at large)

Walla Walla School District

Ruth Ladderud, School Director Position 3

Chris Leyendecker, School Director Position 3

Eric Rindal, School Director Position 4

Zana Carver, School Director Position 4

Kathy Covey, School Director Position 4

Derek Sarley, School Director Position 5

Kirk Jameson, School Director Position 5 

College Place School District

Jamie Williams, School Director District 4

Touchet School District

Lincoln Short, School Director Position 5

Columbia School District 

Michael Scrimsher, School Director District 5 

Waitsburg School District

Sarah Boudrieau, School Director District 1

Christy House, School Director District 2

Tia Hays, School Director District 2

Abby Grende, School Director District 4

Carol Clarke, School Director District 5

Prescott School District 

Kevin Chabre, School Director District 3

Fire Protection District No. 4

Larry Hector, Commissioner Position 2

Fire Protection District No. 5

Jimmy Greco, Commissioner Position 2

Fire Protection District No. 6

Richard Easton, Commissioner Position 2

Prescott Joint Park and Recreation District

Matthew Hamilton, Commissioner Subdivision 4 

Carol Hartwig, Commissioner Subdivision 5

Wallula Water District 1

Michael Pringle, Commissioner Position 1

Ron Ridgers, Commissioner Position 2

Touchet Water District 2 

Coralee Large, Commissioner Position 3

Kate Smith can be reached at or 509-577-7709. 

Kate Smith is the government reporter for the Walla Walla Union-Bulletin. She is passionate about connecting people to policy in storytelling that is thorough, fair and compassionate. She follows local elections, budgets, policy decisions and more affecting residents throughout the Walla Walla Valley, southeast Washington and northeast Oregon. She previously reported on city government, health, housing and more in Yakima. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.
Posting comments is now limited to subscribers only. Become one today or log in using the link below. For additional information on commenting click here.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.