The 2018 West Coast League All-Star Game rosters have been announced. 

Four members of the Walla Walla Sweets have been selected to the team. The quartet is headlined by now three-time WCL All-Star infielder Nick Nyquist, two-time WCL All-Star right-handed pitcher Darius Vines, and a pair of first-time WCL All-Stars in outfielder Cesar Lopez and utility player Zach Penrod.

“We are extremely proud of the recognition that Nick, Darius, Cesar and Zach are receiving,” said Sweets manager Frank Mutz. “Not only has their on-field play been worthy of the recognition, but their contributions off the field in the clubhouse and the community have been significant factors in creating a winning culture.”

West Coast League commissioner Rob Neyer announced the league’s All-Star selections on Tuesday. This year’s mid-summer classic is being held Tuesday in Port Angeles at Civic Field. First pitch is scheduled for 6:35 pm.

“In my professional life as a columnist and blogger, I second-guessed dozens of All-Star teams over the years, while never imagining that someday I would actual be involved in putting together All-Star teams,” said Neyer.

“It’s not easy! But with great help from every West Coast League head coach and a big assist from Baseball America, I’m confident that our 2018 All-Stars represent a tremendous mix of performance and potential, and that the scouts at our All-Star Game will love what they see on the field in Port Angeles.”

The night before the All-Star Game, on Monday, the first Saltwater Splashdown will be hosted by the Lefties. Rather than blasting baseballs over the fence, in a ballpark, home run derby participants will hit from a raised platform at Hollywood Beach over a rope connected to anchors more than 300 feet offshore in the Port Angeles harbor. The derby starts at 6:35 p.m. 

The North All-Stars will be coached by Lefties skipper Darren Westergard and his staff, while the South will be coached by the defending champion coaching staff of the Corvallis Knights, led by five-time WCL Coach of the Year Brooke Knight.

The North Division is made up of the Bellingham Bells, Kelowna Falcons, Port Angeles Lefties, Wenatchee AppleSox, Victoria HarbourCats and Yakima Valley Pippins. The South Division is comprised of the Bend Elks, Corvallis Knights, Cowlitz Black Bears, Portland Pickles and Walla Walla Sweets. 

Later this week, WCL All-Star Game Saltwater Splashdown representatives will be announced for each team.