Two state lawmakers who won election last fall to Legislative District 16 seats were sworn in Monday.

State Rep. William Jenkin, R-Prosser, and state Sen. Maureen Walsh, R-College Place, took their oaths of office during opening ceremonies for the 2017 Legislature. Legislative District 16 covers Walla Walla and Columbia counties as well as portions of Benton and Franklin counties.

In the November general election, Jenkin won the district’s Position 1 seat after defeating Democratic challenger Rebecca Francik of Pasco. The seat was previously held by Walsh, who stepped down to run for the District 16 state Senate seat.

Walsh, who ran unopposed, was subsequently elected to replace state Sen. Mike Hewitt, R-Walla Walla, who retired at the end of 2016.

The district’s Position 2 seat in the state House is held by Rep. Terry Nealey, R-Dayton, who was re-elected in November to a new term.

Recommended for you